What does a Montessori home look like?

I’ve tried to think of what my first earth-shattering post should be, and I’ve decided that it’s pretty logical to include a few pics of what physical touches make our home a Montessori home.  The kids are in bed (as I should be), so you’re not going to see them or their bedrooms, but I’ll give you a little tour of other parts of the house.

Now I just have to figure out how to post pics on this thing…

(Hum the Jeopardy theme song – for thirty minutes…)

That took ridiculously long, but I think I’ve got it now.

This is a pretty strange way to start, but this happens to be the first photo I managed to get up.

This is the children’s bathroom.  The children both started sitting on the potty at around 9 months.  Although they use the toilet at times, they still prefer to use the child-sized potties.  We keep one in each of the other bathrooms – and one in the car.  You wouldn’t believe how handy that can be with a 2YO!

We use all breakable dishes, no plastic.  That has always been the case in our house.  We have pics of them as tiny babies, just sitting up, drinking out of their tiny glasses.  You can’t tell in this pic, but this is a bottom cabinet.  The children feel very independent being able to reach dishes themselves and being able to set the table without assistance – yes, even the 2YO.  (I really need to think up nicknames for them…)

Okay, I’m including a fuller shot here just because moms always pressure ourselves to present the image that our homes are perfectly clean and we have it all together.  Here is proof positive that neither of those are true for me!

This is our art shelf.  Bookworm (how’s that for a nickname for my 4YO?) is currently fascinated by art.  She spends much of the day here.  Hubby (I need to come up with a better nickname for him) made that shelf years ago.  My sweet friend Pascha gave us those breakfast-in-bed tables for our wedding – they turned out to be PERFECT art tables for the kids!

This is our playroom/school room.  See that white shelf in the back?  It is the most fabulous thing ever!  It’s on wheels, and the back side has the exact same shelves as the front side.  So I have school materials on one side and toys on the other.  I can just flip it around based on the time of day!  And the best part – my man made it for me!!  They were too expensive to buy, so he took on the project.  He has a second one out in the shop that is almost done.

Other side of the playroom.

For this, I went back to my undergrad days where we learned guidelines of how to set rules for a classroom.  Of course, those didn’t include Bible verses.

I love, love, love my storage closet in the playroom.  We rotate toys and books so that there are only a few of each out at time.  This closet is the perfect place to store all the others in a very organized fashion so that I know exactly where everything is!

We keep a basket with typically 3 books in almost every room of the house, but I especially love this little reading alcove in between the kids bedrooms.

Well, my hubby called to say he’s on the way home, so I need to rush and finish those dishes!  🙂

Please feel free to share any tips on how to do this blogging thing!

7 thoughts on “What does a Montessori home look like?

  1. “raises hand* I have some questions 😉 After tripping over about twelve toys on my way to the computer, I’m wondering how many toys you keep out and if you have certain rooms that toys aren’t allowed in. Also, how often do you rotate toys/books?

    Why no plastic dishes?

    Are there things in the kids’ bedrooms that make them Montessori rooms or are they “typical” bedrooms? (wondering since we didn’t get to see pics!)

  2. I love the idea of putting dinner dishes in a lower cabinet. Let’s face it, my kids dishes are in an upper cabinet and Nathaniel will drive me crazy because he can’t commit to a color choice.

    • Ugh, yeah, I had trouble making it work in our previous house, so when we moved here last year, that was one of my main priorities. I love having the dishes within their reach. That way, they can set the table, get their own glass for when they’re thirsty during the day, and unload the dishwasher. And they can make their dish choices on their own, and take as much time as they want to do so! I’m always thrown off when we visit grandparents because I have to do SO much for them!

  3. Pingback: Dealing with that rumbly in the tumbly | Our Montessori Home

  4. Pingback: Q & A: Dishes and Bedrooms and Toys (Oh my!) | Our Montessori Home

Leave a Reply

