The Power of Asking Forgiveness

This may sound weird, but I absolutely love having the opportunity to ask Drama Queen to forgive me for something I did – and trust me, I get that opportunity a lot!

Just a couple days ago, after the kids were in bed, The Brain pointed out an interaction I had had with Drama Queen that evening.  He said he felt really sad for her and that she had looked SO disappointed.  I really wasn’t sure what he was referring to, but as he explained, I could totally see his point.

She constantly is asking me to be a character.  This started as soon as she began talking, and shows no sign of stopping anytime soon.  And I would be lying if I didn’t confess that it drives me crazy!!  I get SO tired of it!!  And she apparently only does it with me!  As soon as we got in the car after picking the kids up from a week at the grandparents’ house recently, she asked, “Do you want to be a character?”  I responded by asking, “Did you ask Belle and Papa to be characters this week?”  She briefly paused to think, then replied, “No, I took a break and now I’m ready for you to be a character again.”  (deep sigh)

So, anyway, the other day as we were cleaning up from dinner, she asked if I wanted to be a character.  It was the end of the day.  I could not even guess how many times I had been a character that day.  I was pretty much sick of it.  So…I passive aggressively responded, “Yes.  I’ll be Mommy,” and pretty much just continued in my normal “let’s get ready for bed” routine.  I didn’t really give any more thought to it.

When The Brain pointed out later that Drama Queen seemed crushed that I had said “yes” and then not followed through, I could easily imagine her sadness and confusion over that.

The next morning as she was cleaning up breakfast dishes, I squatted before her so I was eye-to-eye with her.  “I have an apology to make to you,” I started.  As she always does when I’m apologizing, she got completely still and her serious, thoughtful expression settled on her face.  “Daddy pointed out something I said to you last night that was not very nice.  When you asked me if I would be a character, I said yes, and then I said I was being Mommy and didn’t actually play along with you.  That was not a nice thing to do.  I can understand why you were sad and confused.  I’m sorry that I did that to you.  Next time I will give you an honest answer.  Will you forgive me?”

She nodded her head with that same contemplative look on her face.  Then she burst into a huge smile and threw her arms around my neck.  After just a brief moment, she went on her way to put her plate on the kitchen counter.  She didn’t say anything.  She never does.  But her expression of studying and learning about apologies from Mommy, and the total joy of realizing how much her Mommy cares about her, honestly makes giving her apologies one of my favorite parts of my job.

(What character did she want me to be, you ask?  King Darius, as in the king from the Daniel and the lion’s den story.  It’s always King Darius these days.  She’s Daniel, if you wondered.)

2 thoughts on “The Power of Asking Forgiveness

  1. Laughed out loud at this one! Love this post. I can so relate to your annoyance, and I also find great beauty and healing in apologizing to R.

Leave a Reply

