Sequence Cards

One lesson in the Montessori two-year-old manual that I own is to make sequencing cards for the young child to put in order.  It suggests taking photos of the child throughout the day:  arriving at class, hanging up coat, choosing a work…”  Then you would glue those onto colored paper, laminate them, and make them available to the child.  (Each child would have his/her own set.)

I decided to go the easier route:  the internet.  I lazily googled “sequence cards preschool” and found a long list of sequence cards that I could just print off.  Some of them were great and seemed very useful for our family, others either weren’t well-made or were based on books we don’t have.

These are the sites I used:

I started out with a very simple one for Mr. BANG and a more challenging one for Drama Queen.  I put each in a basket on a shelf.


Drama Queen’s lesson was with a set I had found based on The Very Hungry Caterpillar.  (You would think I’m doing a unit study on that book!)

I had her bring the basket to the rug, and also got the book from our book basket.  First, we talked about each picture, one at a time.  After we talked about each one, we placed it along the right edge of the rug.

Next, we began reading the book together and I told her we would be putting the cards together in the order they appear in the book.  So as we read, she would pick up a card and place it in a horizontal line across the middle of the rug.  Sometimes I would prompt her to get the appropriate card, and sometimes she would just get it while I was still reading that page.

When we finished, I let her know that next time she works with it, she can choose to do it with or without the book.

Mr. BANG’s first sequencing lesson only consisted of three cards.  The cards told a story about a daddy tucking his son into bed at night, something with which he has personal experience.  The original version consisted of four cards, but I left out “They tell each other about their day.”  We do that during dinner in our family, so that could be confusing to Mr. BANG.

Other than the book part, we did the lesson the same way as with Drama Queen’s lesson.  I had him set out a rug and bring the basket to it.  We talked through each picture as we set them to the right.

Then I asked, “Which of those happened first?” “Which one happened next?”  “What was the last thing that happened?”  With each question, he put the appropriate picture across the middle of the rug.

I have a few more of these waiting to be prepared to take a turn on the shelf.  There were some outline-only ones that I let Drama Queen color and laminate.

(I later found a different Little Miss Muffet one that I like better, but I’ll stick with these because Drama Queen proudly did them herself.)

My plan is to rotate the sequence cards probably every week or so – always having two options on the shelf.

Leave a Reply

