Product Review: Geometric Cabinet from Alison’s Montessori

Last Wednesday, I was SOOO excited to win a Geometric Cabinet from Alison’s Montessori and Living Montessori Now.  Just TWO days later, on Friday afternoon, I found this on my front porch:

Talk about a speedy delivery!  If their shipping is always that fast, they are THE place to order Montessori materials you need the next week!

I was pretty much giddy when I opened the box and got to start playing with my absolutely gorgeous new cabinet.  It truly is lovely, as Maria thought materials for children should be.

To give a fair review, though, I do want to share some concerns I had about it as I began to look at it more closely.

*The top of it sags in the middle.  It’s practically unnoticeable unless you’re purposefully noting the fine details, so it’s not that big of a deal.  The only real problem from it is that not every drawer can fit in that space.  I tried to move some drawers around, and realized that other drawers won’t fit there.  Strange, but not a huge deal.

*One of the drawers is not a perfect rectangle, so the frames do not actually fit.  One corner is just a little shy of a 90 degree angle, so the frame in that corner has to overlap with the frame beneath it a little.  That’s annoying to me, but again, not a huge deal.

*The oval has a point at the top.  Have you ever seen an oval with a point?  What is that??  (For comparison, I’ve included the typical oval form that is used in Montessori materials.  This is an oval metal inset, which is supposed to be the same size and shape as the oval in the geometry cabinet.)

     

*There was one four-sided figure in the triangle drawer.  I don’t understand why a four-sided figure was placed in a drawer that is specifically for three-sided figures.  I took it out and replaced it with a triangle I found elsewhere.

*There was a rectilinear figure in the curvilinear drawer.  Again, why?  And again, I took it out.

*I ended up with two rectilinear figures and one triangle that aren’t part of the material in my manual.  I’m simply storing those in my teacher’s cabinet.

*The drawers were in a different order than what I had learned in my training.  That may be one of those things that’s taught differently depending on what type of training you received.  It was easy to just switch around the drawers (which is how I found out the top one had to stay at the top;  I just switched the contents for that one).

I must admit that I was disappointed over some of those things, but as I stated, most of it was easily corrected.  I’m still stuck with that pointed oval, which is so strange.

Despite those flaws, though, I still absolutely love my new cabinet and am still completely thrilled that I own it.  Drama Queen got to start working with it on Monday, and was so excited!  I had previously given her all the introductory lessons with my homemade Geometric Cabinet, so for this lesson, I was at the point of showing her how to work with a whole drawer.  I think she ended up working with each of the drawers that day – she just kept going back to it!

      

These are each of the six drawers of the Geometric Cabinet:

Drawer 1: 6 circles, varying in diameter from 10 cm to 5 cm

Drawer 2:  6 rectangles, varying in size from 10×10 cm to 10×5 cm


Drawer 3:  6 different types of triangles (isosceles obtuse, isosceles right, scalene obtuse, isosceles acute, scalene right, equilateral)


Drawer 4:  6 different regular polygons (pentagon, hexagon, heptagon, octagon, nonagon,  decagon)


Drawer 5:  4 curvilinear figures (quatrefoil, curvilinear triangle, oval, ellipse)


Drawer 6:  4 rectilinear figures (isosceles trapezoid, rhombus, right trapezoid, parallelogram)

6 thoughts on “Product Review: Geometric Cabinet from Alison’s Montessori

  1. Pingback: DIY Montessori: Geometric Cabinet | Our Montessori Home

  2. An oval is an egg shape. That is why it looks more like an egg. I wouldn’t consider the top pointy, but rounded. Can I borrow those for Cy? He tried to tell me that a circle and oval are the same thing!

  3. Right, an oval is a 2-D egg shape. But this piece clearly has a slight point at the top of the oval – it is not a smooth, rounded edge as it should be. That may not show as well in the photo as it does in person.

  4. Greetings! I was just browsing for an image to send to a friend quickly and found your great blog!

    I, too wonder, about that pointy oval – I think it is because us adults do have some difficulty separating the oval from the ellipse, but really – that US adults! The children either get it, or they fine-tune their senses so that they do get it. I think this is just an example of “trying to fix what ain’t broken” and ignoring what really is broken. I’d be SO tempted to sand that thing down, but then it wouldn’t match the frame….

    Eggs definitely do not have points – even though some are certainly closer to it than others.

Leave a Reply

