Light the tree, unplug the computer

My family (as in my parents and siblings) are doing something new for the first time this year:  we’re leaving computers stashed in bedrooms during our family Christmas gathering.  This is incredibly strange for us, and I’m not really sure how it’s going to work – or what we’ll do without computers to stare at!  This has always been the norm with us…

(Picture a roomful of people sitting on couches, each staring at the silver or white laptop balanced on his/her lap.  I can’t find the actual photograph.)

Even more important, though, is that I am able to completely focus on my husband and kiddos over the next week.  When the kids want me to build a train track with them, I want to say, “Yes!” instead of “Yes, later today I would love to do that with you.”  When they’re ready to play chase, I want to immediately start running without having to clear my lap first.  When they want me to fully be engaged acting as this character or that character…okay, that will still get just as old, just as fast.

So, my friends who for some reason read this blog, I’ll see you after New Year’s!

Merry Christmas!

“This is how God showed his love for us: God sent his only Son into the world so we might live through him. This is the kind of love we are talking about—not that we once upon a time loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to clear away our sins and the damage they’ve done to our relationship with God. “

(1 John 4:9-10 The Message)

Leave a Reply

